News & Insights

Ken Ackeret Receives ITE 2023 Theodore M. Matson Memorial Award

2023 ITE_Matson_Award

Ken Ackeret, PE, PTOE, Ph.D., was honored with the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) 2023 Theodore M. Matson Memorial Award on August 15, 2023. This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the field of traffic engineering and have advanced the industry through leadership, techniques, principles, research, or training. Ken retired from a full-time schedule at Kimley-Horn this year after working in the transportation planning and design industry for more than 40 years. He has been a part of ITE since 1986 and has held the following positions:

  • Nevada Chapter Charter Member, 1989
  • Nevada Chapter President, 1994-1995
  • Intermountain Section President, 1996-1997
  • Western District Technical Chairman, 1998-2001
  • Western District President, 2005-2006
  • Western District International Director, 2009-2011
  • Transportation Professional Certification Board 2014-2018

Transforming Transportation Projects Nationwide

As a senior leader for Kimley-Horn, Ken has been responsible for concept planning, design, specifications, bid documents, cost estimates, and construction supervision on a wide variety of transportation engineering projects across the United States. He has extensive experience taking projects from conception through construction, as demonstrated by his broad project responsibilities, including the transportation and civil engineering for major hotels and casinos, retail developments, master planned communities, and arterial street projects.